Experienced. Certified. Local.


Together we are STRONGER.


In Memory of Dale F. Theis,

Official Court Reporter

Please read about Dale’s life and legacy below

The purpose of the Dale F.  Theis Distinguished Service Award is to encourage and to recognize work amounting to distinguished service by individual members of the Nebraska Court Reporters Association for the benefit of the reporting and captioning professions. This may include members who have worked in the background for many years to further the goals of our profession; who have devoted endless hours to NeCRA or National Court Reporters Association affairs; or who have been active in the legislative or public relations fields over the years.

Past Recipients

2023 - Christal McDonald, RPR, CSR (Iowa), Official; Norfolk, Nebraska

2022 – Mydge Heaney, RMR, CRR, CRC, Cart Captioner, Freelancer; Omaha, Nebraska Kathy Skalka, RPR, Freelancer; Omaha, Nebraska

2019 – Sondra Petersen, RMR, CRR, CSR (Iowa), Official; Syracuse, Nebraska

2018 – Sheryl Teslow, RDR, CRR; Freelancer; Lincoln, Nebraska
2017 – Lisa Grimminger, RDR, CRR, CRC, Federal Official; Lincoln, Nebraska
2016 – Nancy Schramm, Official; Wayne, Nebraska
2015 – Bev Huerter, RMR, Official; Omaha, Nebraska
2014 – Rita Olberding, Retired; Norfolk, Nebraska
2013 – Julie Boutard, RPR, Official; Omaha, Nebraska
2012 – Jill Albracht, RPR, CCR, Official; Omaha, Nebraska
2011 – Lori McGowan, RDR, CRR, CSR, (Iowa), CCR Freelance; Lincoln, Nebraska
2010 – Lisa Hagman, RPR, CCR, Official; Grand Island, Nebraska
2009 – Julie Bellis, RPR, CRR, CRI, CCR, Official; Aurora, Nebraska
2008 – Pamela Weyant, CRR; Omaha, Nebraska
2007 – JaVee Suhr, CRR, Freelancer; Omaha, Nebraska
2006 – Matisha Stratton, RDR, CRR, Official; Omaha, Nebraska
2005 – Kathy Scheer, RMR, Freelancer; Lincoln, Nebraska
2004 – Kelli Scheffler, RPR, Official; Columbus, Nebraska
2003 – Patricia W. Laukaitis, RPR, Official; Lincoln, Nebraska
2002 – Denise Bickal, RMR, Official; Papillion, Nebraska
2001 – Danette Thibault, RMR, Official; Papillion, Nebraska
2000 – Dave Francis, RMR, Federal Official; Lincoln, Nebraska
1999 – Gail Stokes, Official, Retired
1998 – Julie Hurley, RMR, Official; Omaha, Nebraska
1997 – Sue Wurm, RDR, Freelancer; Lincoln, Nebraska
1995 – Gretchen Thomas, RPR, Official; Papillion, Nebraska
1993 – Sue DeVetter, RMR, Federal Official; Omaha, Nebraska
1992 – Kathy Habben, RPR, Official; Nebraska City, Nebraska
1991 – Brenda Fauber, RDR, CRR, Federal Official; Omaha, Nebraska
1990 – Randy Fitch, RPR, Official; O’Neill, Nebraska
1989 – W. Don McIntyre, RPR; Official, Retired
1987 – Sue Anderson, RMR, Freelancer; Lincoln, Nebraska
1986 – John Thomas, Freelancer; Omaha, Nebraska
1985 – Gary Latimer, RMR, Freelancer; Lincoln, Nebraska
1983 – Terry Denney, RPR, Freelancer; Omaha, Nebraska
1982 – Alan Kuhlman, CRR, Federal Official; Omaha, Nebraska
1981 – South Bickley, Official; Sun City, Arizona
1980 – Richard “Dick” Mowers, Official, Retired

*  *  *  *  *  *

Dale F. Theis, Norfolk, Nebraska, official court reporter of the Ninth Judicial District of Nebraska, and his judge, the Honorable Eugene C. McFadden, were killed instantly in a car-train collision near Norfolk on January 29, 1979.

Dale, who was 43, graduated from the Minnesota School of Business, Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1962, and then freelanced in Cleveland, Ohio, for one year.  In 1963 he and his fiancée, Karin, who had graduated from the Minneapolis School of Business as well, were married and moved to Nebraska.  During his 16 years as an official reporter in Nebraska, Dale was very active in the Nebraska Shorthand Reporters Association, serving as its president on two occasions, among other offices.

Quoting from the Memorial for Dale F. Theis, written by members of the Ninth Judicial District Bar Association of Nebraska, “Without a doubt, Dale was as fine a reporter as this community has ever known.  Somehow he was always able to understand and record the most difficult material.  He had an excellent knowledge of legal, medical, and other technical terms.  He was always able to find portions of testimony requested by either Court or counsel, and in our memory was never asked to correct any part of his record.  Dale made it a point to get to know all the attorneys in the district and attempted to fully serve the needs of each.  He attended as many functions of the Bar as possible, adding much, both socially and professionally, to each meeting.  He was always anxious to be of help in and out of the courtroom, and his work was accurate and promptly delivered.”

Karin, who is a freelancer, added, “Dale was instrumental in encouraging many young people from Nebraska to go into court reporting.  He was also most helpful to new reporters and new lawyers with whom he came into contact in his work.  His greatest love was the outdoors.  His favorite place was a cabin he built on Lewis & Clark Lake near Yankton, South Dakota.  He was a snowmobiler in winter, a boater and fisherman in summer.  We have four children, Lisa, Jennifer, Jeffrey and Christopher.  We and his many friends miss him terribly but are consoled by the fact that he and his Judge, the man he admired most in the world, and with whom he died, had been happy, active, and in good health until their deaths.”

Nominations for the Dale F. Theis Distinguished Service Award may be submitted by NeCRA voting members or by affiliated court reporting associations. Candidates must be a member of NeCRA in good standing or a Retired or Honorary Member who was a member in good standing upon retirement. The DSA nomination committee may direct that the name of any candidate(s) not selected be carried forward for consideration by the next year's DSA nomination committee. To make sure your candidate remains on the list, please submit his/her name each year!

NeCRA makes every effort to ensure the accuracy of all material on this site. If a discrepancy arises between any document published here and the official version of that document, the official version shall govern.

The Nebraska Court Reporters Association is a 501(c)(6) org


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software